Everything We Need

“His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” 2 Peter 1:3

© Depositphotos/ kevron2002

© Depositphotos/ kevron2002

I have struggled mightily with the words godly and holy. What does that mean? How do I live a “holy” life? I’m not godly in my behavior or thinking. I’m a mess.

And it’s not just mistakes that make up my mess. Let’s call it what it is: Sin. God knows more about my sin than even I do. In fact, He knows ALL about my sin.

Yet, God has given me everything I need to live a godly life. Because God has called me, because I’ve come to know Jesus, I have all I need.

So rather than try to be perfect, I’m going to take what I know about God and all that I’m learning and choose to live in agreement with Him. It might actually be that simple.

And if you’re reading this, God is calling you. Not because you’re perfect, good or holy, but because He is. He calls you by His own glory and goodness, not yours. And as you get to know Him through the power of the Holy Spirit, through reading His word, and by spending time with others who know Him, you will be able to recognize and live a godly life as well.

You will begin to live your life in agreement with God, not in opposition to Him.

… because He is good.

… because He knows you completely, sin and all, and still loves you deeply.

… because HE has given you everything you need. He’s withheld nothing good from you.

God is good so He calls and He gives. Will you accept everything He has for you?

 

God, you are good and you give good gifts. You give me everything I need and I lack nothing. Lord, when I feel like I don’t understand enough to move forward with you, teach me what I need to know so I can live in agreement with you. Thank you for giving me everything I need to live a godly life in your divine power.

Something to Consider…

Do you think of godly living in terms of what you must give up or in what you will gain? Perspective matters. How could a change in perspective help you move in God’s direction?

What do you believe is lacking in your life right now? What information do you believe would make a difference in this area? God has already given you everything you need. Ask him to make it known.

If you have not yet responded to God’s call to you, but would like to, you can. Right now, you can say “yes” to God’s glory and goodness by putting your faith in Jesus. If you believe in your heart and confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord, you will be saved. God knows all about your sin so acknowledge it and ask Him to forgive you. He will. Thank Him for the gift of grace through His Son, Jesus. He died on the cross for your sins so that you could be forgiven. Tell Him that you want to live in agreement with Him and ask Him to give you everything you need to do that. He loves you and calls you to be His. Say “yes” today.

Leave a Reply

