In Every Season

Depositphotos_10073264_xs (2)

© Depositphotos.com/menz11

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Whoever obeys his command will come to no harm, and the wise heart will know the proper time and procedure. There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.” Ecclesiastes 8:5, 3:11, 3:1

I’ve been going through a season. I’m on the quiet side when I first meet people, but my husband, children and best friends would say I’m anything but quiet. I can talk for hours, days even given the right circumstances and people. I have an opinion about everything and I am more than willing to tell you if you really want to listen.

There are three things of which I’m certain: Jesus Christ is Lord so I submit my entire life to Him, my marriage is a lifelong covenant so I seek to move forward with my husband in unity, and God loves my children even more than I do so I can entrust them to Him. Every other opinion is subject to change and I willingly admit I don’t have all the answers even if I speak like I do.

But I’ve been going through a season of silence. My last blog was nearly 3 months ago and that was more of a response out of an assignment than my actually having something to say. I have no desire to add to the noise of the world just because I can.

So why am I breaking my silence now?

PRAISE!

When everything feels hopeless, Jesus gives us hope. When everything seems lost, Jesus provides the way.

There is a season for everything. There is a proper time and a proper procedure for everything. And in obedience to Christ, we can walk in whatever season we find ourselves.

And since there is also a purpose to every season, I’ve learned a few things in this season of silence.

Prayer is better than simply talking. As I said, I can talk it up with the best of them. But simply talking about our problems, concerns, stressful situations, and even our joys and celebrations only goes so far. In laying out in the light, openly and honestly, all of our “talk” before God, we actually engage with the One who can do something about our circumstances. We ask God to join us in our struggles, we ask to join God in His solution. We thank Him for what He has already done, what He is currently doing, and for what we trust He will do in the future.

Before they call I will answer; while they are still speaking I will hear.” Isaiah 65:24

Silence encourages us to listen more. When we aren’t so busy talking, we can listen with more intention. We can hear the people around us. We can be present in their lives and respond as needed to them. Because we pause to engage with God, if we really want to join Him in what He’s bringing about, we need to be able to hear what He has to say. We need to be able to respond in accordance with His character if we really want to see the fruit of what He is able to do in and through us.

“The Lord is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love.” Psalm 103:8

 “My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.” James 1:19

Peace comes when you realize there’s only so much you can say. I admit, I want to try to talk people into understanding, agreeing and complying with my ways. Even more so, I want to talk people into understanding, agreeing and complying with God’s ways. But that isn’t something I have control over. Only God can change, move and transform someone’s heart and mind bringing it into alignment with Him. Only the work of the Holy Spirit can cause someone to call out to Him in their deepest need and trust Him to respond. And only the power of the Holy Spirit through a relationship with Jesus can give me the peace to know when I’ve said enough and trust Him with the rest.

“The Lord’s justice will dwell in the desert, his righteousness live in the fertile field. The fruit of that righteousness will be peace; its effect will be quietness and confidence forever.” Isaiah 32:16-17

Something to Consider…

What season are you in? Do you struggle to find God in your situation? Do you assume things will always be this good? Regardless of what season you find yourself experiencing today, know that God is only a prayer away. He hears you when you talk to others, but He really wants to talk with you Himself. Ask Him to join you. Choose to join Him.

Do you ever feel like you just talk too much? Like you’ve said it all and you’ve said it to everybody? Before we know how to do anything, we learn and practice. If you have a tendency to struggle with quiet, with silence, set your mind to learn to listen. Practice what you hope others will do for you. Give God space to speak so your ears can be fully attuned to what He has to say.

Leave a Reply

