Where Does Your Help Come From?

“You willingly forgive, and your love is always there for those who pray to you. Please listen, Lord! Answer my prayer for help. When I am in trouble, I pray, knowing you will listen.” Psalm 86:5-7 (CEV)

My daughter came down the stairs this morning before going to work with her keys in one hand and her lanyard in the other. They are supposed to be attached. “Look what happened,” she said.

Of course, I have to look it over and I start playing with it. “What about this?”

“No, that was for the price tag.” The plastic piece that held the price tag has been attached since she bought the lanyard some twelve months ago. Odds and ends pieces don’t phase my kids; it drives me crazy. Get rid of the junk already…maybe that’s for another post!

So once that’s taken care of I start looking over the lanyard again. She points out that there is a screw in the middle of the cap and that’s why the strap won’t go back in. In my bi-focal needing way, I stretch my arms out to be able to see the screw and make out what type of screwdriver is needed.

My daughter politely lets me know that I don’t have a screwdriver small enough. GAME ON!

“Oh, I don’t? I bet I do.”

After rummaging around a bit, I find two that might work. The first one is too big, but with a few turns of the second, that little screw starts to move. Once out far enough, I slide the straps back in and tighten the screw holding the straps firmly in place.

Problem solved. Next?

I posted on my Facebook page that I love it when my kids think I can’t fix something but then I do! I love their amazement!

But then I wondered, do I really love it? Wouldn’t I prefer that they believe I can fix it and come to me willingly seeking my help? I still love that they are amazed at my ability to solve the problem but I don’t ever want them assuming I can’t help. Or worse yet, that I won’t help.

And isn’t that what God, our heavenly Father wants? Doesn’t He desire that we know we can come to Him with any problem and He will help us?

So what keeps us from asking?

  • We believe it can’t be fixed so we don’t bother asking…but all things are possible with God. (Matthew 19:26)
  • We don’t think God will help even though we want to ask…but God always hears us and is always willing to help when we turn to Him. (Isaiah 41:13)
  • We don’t want to do our part. We just want it fixed…but God says we are to put off the old self and get rid of the old way of thinking. We are to take on His ways in all areas. (Ephesians 4:22-24)

The truth is it can be fixed, it can be better. We may need to make some changes in the process, we need to be willing to believe He can and will help, and we definitely need to be willing to ask for His help.

“My help comes from the LORD,  the Maker of heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:2 (NIV)

Something to Consider…

Is there a problem in your life that you just can’t seem to fix on your own? Are you trying to find a way around dealing with certain issues because it just seems like it’s too much, too big, or too difficult?

Turn to God, ask Him to help and believe that He will. And then be willing to make the necessary changes He shows you in the process.

Leave a Reply

