What’s Your Battle?

What can we say about all this? If God is on our side, can anyone be against us? God did not keep back his own Son, but he gave him for us. If God did this, won’t he freely give us everything else? Romans 8:31-32 (CEV)

I’m doing a Bible study and one of the questions asks, “What’s your current battle?”

There have been so many times in my life when that question has been asked and I could rattle off at least a few issues, if not a list of twenty! Do you know what I mean? There’s so much going on, so many things that seem to be in conflict or at odds with each other.  I can be overwhelmed at the magnitude of the issue or the number of issues that I just want to curl up and not deal with any of them.

I need time to get into God’s Word but I have to get to work and I have a long ride. I need to exercise but I can’t find a time that doesn’t conflict with a meal or sleep. Speaking of sleep, I’m exhausted! How can I go to bed at a decent time when I’ve been out all evening at kid’s activities and still have a few things to wrap up at home?

And those are just the day-to-day activities. Add in conflicts, misunderstandings and judgmental criticisms to the mix and the day-to-day just got messier. What about those habits you’ve been wanting to change and for whatever reason you are not resolved to carry it out. You feel you have no will power and just want to forget about it; be content where and how you are.

But you’re not content. No matter how hard you try, you can’t let it go. You concentrate on your failure not your desire, your outcome not your source. The big picture of it all overwhelms your need in the moment.

Does it sound like I know what I’m talking about? Think I’ve been there a time or two?

Oh, the battles I’ve faced. I would cry in remembering if it wasn’t for the good and gracious love of my Savior. Then again, there are times that I just have to cry in acknowledging that He did carry me through. Don’t get me wrong, I still have a lot of work to do. I have choices to make and must act; but when I give it to Him and ask Him to help me in my situations, in my human condition, He works in me to help me see His truth in my battle.

You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world. 1 John 4:4 (NIV)

As we follow His lead, He straightens out our mess, brings clarity to our confusion and gives us peace in our uncertainty.

Something to Consider…

If you know and trust Jesus, you already have the One with you who has overcome the world. If you don’t know Jesus, you can ask Him into your heart right now. You can ask Him to be the leader of your life. He always says, “Yes!”

What battle do you face today? Be honest with God and let Him know everything that concerns you.

What answer are you hoping for? Ask Him into your battle and let Him show you His answer.

2 thoughts on “What’s Your Battle?

  1. Thanks Mari, I did have a battle to give Him today! This was just the reminder that I needed. I gave it and left it at the foot of my Saviors cross. In a peaceful mood now!

Leave a Reply

