What’s on Your Mind?

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” Philippians 4:8 (NIV)

The first time I gave a brief testimony, I said, “I don’t talk a lot; but when I talk, I talk a lot.” I wish I could say this about what I think. Unfortunately, I tend to think a lot about a lot of things. My husband tells me I think too much. And in many ways, he’s correct. I can sit on something and give it room and power in my mind when it has no business being there. I worry over things I can’t change, re-live situations that are over and done with and ponder things that could be, might be and I hope aren’t.

There are also times when I feel like there is no time to think. I am overwhelmed, stressed out and in constant motion. I have no time to make sense of what needs to be done. My mind is going non-stop wearing me out and wearing me down.

We often seem to think that we can’t help what we think about. We’re just sitting there minding our own business when suddenly we remember a situation, a comment, something that was done to us and we consider it. We let it take up space, take up time and take up energy that could be better spent on something good.

We want to set the record straight. We want to see a right outcome. We want what is good but our thoughts about how to get there are full of bitterness, frustration, anger and our ultimate goal is to prove we are right.

So what thoughts constitute what is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent and praiseworthy?

“But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.” Psalm 1:2

Psalm 1:2 says the blessed man keeps his mind on God and His Word. His Word guides and directs our steps and actions. (Psalm 119:35,105)

“I meditate on your precepts and consider your ways.” Psalm 119:15

God’s way of handling any situation is worthy of praise. He works all things together for the good of those who love Him. (Romans 8:28) That is excellent!

When we choose to do what God says even if we don’t know how it will bring about a right outcome, we get ourselves back into alignment with His truth. As we choose to love God and others as He loves us, our mind goes to what is noble, right and lovely.

Something to Consider…

What thoughts are on your mind? Often, what we see is what we think about. Ask God to show you how to see your circumstance and relationships though the lens of His Word.

 “This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down His life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.” 1 John 3:16

At some point, we need to stop thinking so much and start doing. Laying down our life doesn’t necessarily mean we physically die for another, but rather we set aside our agenda for the benefit of someone else. Our actions in love can change not only our own thoughts, but our hearts and the thoughts and hearts of others as well.

Leave a Reply

