Our Desire, His Plan

“Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.” Proverbs 19:21

I have had plans and dreams that I assumed could never happen. I’ve also had plans that I thought would satisfy and fulfill some deep desire but still fell short. There are things I always thought I would do and those that I said I would never do. And yet, here I am; nowhere near where I thought I would be.

Recently, I was thinking about our retirement plans. We still have a number of years before that reality but we’ve always had a general idea of where and how we wanted to live. Somewhere warm and near water would be perfect! No snow, no seat warmers in the car, no shovels, snow boots or ice melt needed. Then out of the blue, just the other week I thought, “I don’t want to move. I can’t imagine leaving and giving up what we have here. This means way too much to me!” How would I ever tell my husband that I didn’t want to go south?

But to my surprise, just a few days later, we were driving through the neighborhood and he said, “We’re going to be living here the rest of our lives, aren’t we?” He didn’t have a defeated tone, just one of fact. All I could say was, “Yes.”

God had changed our hearts and lead us to a new way of thinking; a new desire in our hearts.

I have found lately that God has a different plan for me than my deepest desires; at least those desires I had before I really knew Him. The idea of “giving up” my desires for Him was so scary. If I really stepped into what He wanted for me and from me, what would it require of me? What would I have to give up?

So far, it’s been some material possessions, self-gratifying activities and ultimately, fear.

I had to give up the fear that I would never have what I really wanted – a life of convenience, ability, and fun.

The truth is God has shown me how much more fun my life is when it’s not all about me. There are conveniences that free up my time, help me stay in communication with others and allow me the opportunity to do things I wouldn’t otherwise be able to do; but the focus is on serving, not being served. As I step away from the desire to have things, I move closer to the ability to provide for others.

“The LORD makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the LORD upholds him with his hand.” Psalm 37:23-24

Just as we didn’t see a past move to California coming, there may be something else God has up His sleeve for us. And just as we did think we would be moving back to Minnesota, we know God’s plans for us will be good.

Something to Consider…

The deepest desires of our hearts cannot come close to the plans the Lord has in store for each of us. Until we begin to understand this, we may tend to approach God with a bit of fear and intimidation worried about what we will have to change or give up.

The dreams and desires this world says we should crave and fulfill are empty and dissatisfying. God has good plans for you when you seek Him and His desires and dreams for your life. Boldly come to Him and lay your plans out before Him. Ask God to show you how His plan not only brings glory to Him, but can truly fulfill the deepest desires of your heart.

Leave a Reply

