Knowing and Doing

My daughter often takes dinner to dance class with her and eats during a break. Many nights, she sends me a text message asking how to warm it in the microwave. I send her a quick note with the time and power settings; but sometimes I want to say, “The answer is the same as last time you asked.” On occasion, I miss her text and she manages to heat her food and eat just fine without my instruction. She really does know the answer. What she is looking for is confirmation because she doesn’t want to mess it up.

Often, I feel like I keep asking God the same questions and asking for help in the same areas over and over again. He has answered many times but I wonder if He ever thinks, “The answer is the same as the last time you asked.” Sometimes, I feel like He’s missed my request and not answered when really He wants me to remember and be confident in the answer He has already provided.

While I should never stop seeking God and His counsel, at what point will I simply do what He’s already taught me? How many times will I ask the same question? Do I really not know the answer?

There are three main reasons why I continue to ask the same questions: one, the answer might be different this time; two, maybe I misunderstood the answer; third, sometimes, I simply don’t like the answer. So how do I know for sure? I get out my Bible and I do a little reading.

“For the word of the Lord is right and true; He is faithful in all He does.” Psalm 33:4

While my specific situation or question may not be in the Bible, God’s promises and principles are included and they don’t change.

Am I trying to hide something I’ve done or want to do? Am I trying to right a wrong or prove a point? Am I really not able to help or is it simply an inconvenience? Am I faithful in all I do or do I make excuses and break commitments? Do I honor my parents, love my neighbor and most of all, love and honor God?

It ends up not being so much a question of should I or shouldn’t I. More often it’s why do or don’t I want to?

“From heaven the Lord looks down and sees all mankind; from his dwelling place he watches all who live on earth – he who forms the hearts of all, who considers everything they do.” Psalm 33:13-15

God knows and sees all we do. He formed our hearts and knows what is at the core of each one. Do you trust that He is faithful? Do you believe He will or has answered you? Are you willing to do what He says?

Something to Consider…

Are you struggling with the same situation or question as you have before and you feel like God just hasn’t answered? Do you wonder if you’ve misunderstood?

When God appears to be quiet, seek Him and His counsel through His Word. Choose to step out in faith and do what it says. We all make mistakes but God loves a heart set on Him. He will help you see your way and make your path straight.

One thought on “Knowing and Doing

  1. Wow. so relevant Mari! How often do I ask over and over again for that confirmation of what I already know…alot more than I probably realize.

    A great thing about all of your posts, is that you take the time to put Scripture at every point…backing it all up. That truly IS the where to look for the what and the why.

    Do. Love it!!

Leave a Reply

