Sing a New Song

“He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.” Psalm 40:3a

If He, Christ, has put a new song in my mouth, what was the old song?

We sing the song loud and proud! Words of complaining (Can anything be good?), blaming (It’s not really my fault!), venting (I can’t believe what I have to put up with!), gossip (Don’t tell anyone but…) and derogatory remarks (Oh, it’s just a joke.) come so easily. Sometimes they are meant for one set of ears, other times ringing out for anyone who will listen.

There was a time when the worst we had to worry about was our words being repeated by someone else. We could always say they didn’t really understand us: no evidence, simply hearsay.

Then there was the possibility that it would be recorded either by audio or video tape. Ever been in a position of watching a fun family video and suddenly you realize what’s coming next? Ouch!

With email came the accidental “Reply All” and the intentional “Blind Copy”.  “NOOOOOO!” can be heard echoing over the tops of the cubicles.

With the internet and social networks, the world suddenly got a lot smaller and our words go much further than we ever imagined. If I comment on a friend of a friends post, and he has different privacy settings than me, whose settings rule? Yikes!

And texting – who’s really on the other side of that phone?

“He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.” Psalm 40:3a

But now we can have a new song; one we want shouted out at the top of our lungs for all people, all nations to hear! I don’t know about you, but I want the words I speak to lift others up, not tear them down. I need my words to be an encouragement to myself as well. Most of all, I want the words of my mouth, those that come from the depth of my heart, to be pleasing and bring glory to my God and Savior, Rock and Redeemer!

Because we live in the love of Christ, He has removed the old words of multiple complaints and has placed them with new words of joy and adoration that glorify and bring honor to Him – the one true living God who is holy and over all creation. If we, who have been without Him and now know Him, are changed by Him, we should be joyfully sharing Him with others. Why share?

“Many will see and fear the LORD and put their trust in him.” Psalm 40:3b

Because of our words and actions, a great number of people will see the change God has made in our lives. Our words will tell of Christ’s great love for us and our complete joy in what He’s done. They will choose for themselves to seek out and understand our God, and when they do, they will find Him and put their confidence in Him.

And in that, our joy is made complete!

Something to Consider…

Are you wanting, needing something to change? Do you want to replace a dismal and dreary outlook with one of hope and joy? You cannot know Christ and not be changed.

At Northgate Church, there is a new song being sung; a song of love and life and joy! Prayer covers everything and encouragement abounds! If you do not know Jesus, I invite you to join us this and every Sunday! He’s always there!

3 thoughts on “Sing a New Song

  1. Love this Mari! Read it over 3 times now! Getting something new each time :o)

    “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer”

    And that one just so happens to be in a section of Psalms I’m reading right now! …Love Love Love how God DOES THAT! HAHAHA!!

Leave a Reply

