Line of Sight

“But Lot’s wife looked back, and she became a pillar of salt.” Genesis 19:26 (NIV)

Do you have an “issue” in your past that seems to keep getting in your line of sight? You think you’ve dealt with it but it keeps coming up in conversations or thoughts cross your mind when you’re all alone. You wonder how you can rid yourself of this issue and these memories once and for all. All you want to do is forget, but there it is again…

In Genesis 18 and 19 we find the story of Sodom and Gomorrah. Lot and his family have been warned about the coming destruction of the city and are told to leave and to not look back. They are however not told why they shouldn’t look back.

There was a day when driving home from church, I was minding my own business and then it hit me! I remembered something I had done, or allowed to happen, and I felt shame. I literally felt myself turn away from God and hide my face. I realized that while I said I knew I was forgiven, I hadn’t really accepted it as true. I was still trying to hide my sin from God. I was still looking at myself as the old person.

Why is it that we continue to live in that old place of guilt, condemnation and sin? When we are finally on the road leading away from all of our past issues, we tend to look back, almost as if remembering the good old days. What happens when we do this? Does it lift us up or wear us down? Does it encourage us to move forward or keep us stuck in regret? The enemy would love for us to believe we will never really be any different from who we used to be. He continues to show us, tell us or place us in situations where we recognize how bad we once were hoping he can stop us from moving forward into something new.

“For as the heavens are high above the earth, so great is His mercy (and love – NIV) toward those who fear Him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us.” Psalm 103:11-12 (NKJV)

In Christ Jesus, all things are made new. We have no fear of guilt or condemnation. Our sins have been wiped away and we are made clean. Because Christ has removed our sin, it is no longer in our line of sight. It can’t be…unless we hold onto it; unless we really haven’t let Him take it. We think we have, we try with all our might, we ask, we plead but somehow we just don’t believe it’s really gone. Somewhere, somehow, God remembers and will hold it against us. He can’t possibly forget what we’ve done. We can’t seem to forget, how can God?

Sometimes we need to understand that we had to learn a certain lesson. Sometimes we see that if we had not been in a specific place at a specific time, as hard as it was at the time, we wouldn’t be the person we are today. Sometimes we just need to see and appreciate the good that has come of our lives. What do you do with the lessons you’ve learned? How do you view your past experiences, good or bad?

Something to Consider…

As you seek God, inviting Christ to do a good work in you, consider whose line of sight you are looking through. Do you see your past through the eyes of the enemy who tells you will never be rid of the old? Or do you seek God’s perspective that says anyone who is in Christ Jesus is a new creation. The old is gone and the new has come!

Ask God to show you who you are through His line of sight. As He looks at you, all He sees is Jesus.

4 thoughts on “Line of Sight

  1. Thank you, Mari. When thinking on forgiveness, a certain name always comes to mind. I have forgiven her. But I still really miss that friendship. I need to reach out to her. Thank you for your words today!

    • Michelle, From your comment “change my lens”, I think of getting new glasses. Even though they are made specifically for your eyes, they may not feel right at first. As your eyes adjust, they relax and don’t work so hard. It can be like that for us. At first, we struggle to see ourselves through God lens, it’s out of wack. How can it be right? But then, we settle into His perspective and we let go of the things we think we need to work so hard to fix. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

