Wait Quietly

“It is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” Lamentations 3:25 (NIV)

There was a day when Jesus had not yet come. God had promised a Messiah. So much time had passed but still He wasn’t here. All people could do was look ahead and believe the promise was real. Too often though, people looked away from the promise and started doing their own thing.

What do you do when you wait? Do you start to get impatient, frustrated, or angry? Think you need to start making things happen or they never will? Do you tell everyone else how unfair it is that you aren’t getting what you want? I know sometimes I just want to vent, let it out to anyone who will listen. What I really want is to know there is someone else who understands and cares.

God’s Word says it’s good to wait quietly. Is there anything more important in this world than where you will be for all eternity? If we are to wait quietly on the Lord for this, for what else should we be quietly waiting?

To wait is to rest in expectation and patience for a certain outcome or event. At the same time, observing and taking notice in order to be ready to act or serve in obedience. If what we are waiting for does not line up with or serve the Lord’s purpose, we need to be willing to reconsider the desired outcome. When waiting, at some point we will be called to action.

To be quiet is to be peaceable and content, not giving reason for offense or exciting controversy, disorder or trouble. When we are quiet, our emotions do not get the best of us. We have security in the fact that God understands and cares for us.

We often think waiting means inactivity and quiet means silent. We feel stuck, unable to do or say anything. But that is not the case. The truth is we move forward doing and speaking while seeking God’s way, not our own. When an opportunity presents itself, we step into it with the full security that our God is with us.

Have you been running full steam ahead without seeing the results you desire? Does your mouth seem to get you in trouble more often than not? When you feel like you can’t stop, that may be exactly what you need to do.

Something to Consider…

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” Jeremiah 29:11

God already has a plan in mind for you. His plans are better than any plan we can even fathom. Do you feel like you are at a standstill with your own plans, not getting anywhere and tired of trying? God knows and cares. Decide to wait quietly on the Lord. Let Him show you His plans. Spend some time quietly waiting on God, listening to what He has to say. Choose to be ready, willing and able to move forward in obedience being confident He is with you.

12 thoughts on “Wait Quietly

  1. Mari, I love what you wrote about waiting is to rest in expectation and patience for a certain outcome or event. While waiting, my experience over and over has called me to some action God prepared for me, sometimes out of my comfort zone but always empowering and loving!
    Thank you Mari for your inspiring writings that refresh me!
    karen

    • Karen, Great perspective! God prepares us in the waiting. Sometimes we move forward in what we are already doing. Other times He changes our direction. Often He brings us to something new where all we can really do is trust in and rely on Him. Thanks for sharing!

  2. So timely – nice reminder as the busy holiday season (the commercial side) tries to steal our God time……I want so much to thoroughly be still and enjoy the peace and joy that only HE can provide. You are a gift that keeps on giving (not meant to sound like National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation!) Thanks Mari!

    • Nancy, You are so correct! We can be obligated by the “holiday” season running here and there OR be grateful for the gift of the Christmas reason and settle into the presence of Jesus when we are alone or with family and friends. We can have peace and joy even in the activity if we stay focused on Him!

  3. I’m with Cheryl I get impatient and then I think I should do something when really all I need to do is wait. I will wait on you Lord. Thanks for the reminder Mari!

    • Hi Nadine, your comment made me think about how much better it is to wait and step into what God is already doing rather than forcing something and waiting for Him to clean up the mess! He does do that…help us clean up our mess, and how thankful I am for that help!

  4. God is so good and shows up just in time! I was feeling impatient this week. God had shown me something recently which I needed to continue to wait for,but of course I tried to put my own spin on it a bit…which never works in my favor! Thanks Mari, Gods word through you was on time and perfect…I will wait quietly.

  5. Beautiful Mari.

    As someone who has *waited* through several years of writing for that elusive publishing contract, I know full well about impatience and discouragement while questioning my gift. But I’ve discovered that the waiting period is also a season of learning and maturing in faith. I have no choice but to rest in HIm.

    • Brenda, thank you for sharing. You make a great point. The waiting time can often be a maturing time. We handle ourselves, situations and responsiblities differently. God knows what He’s growing in each of us and why it will make a difference. Praying for an open door and just the right opportunity for you!

Leave a Reply

