What’s Your Story?

“Many of the Samaritans from that town believed in Him because of the woman’s testimony, “He told me everything I ever did.” So when the Samaritans came to Him, they urged Him to stay with them, and He stayed two days. And because of His words many more became believers. They said to the woman, “We no longer believe just because of what you said; now we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this man really is the Savior of the world.”

I have a difficult time sharing with others — my joys and celebrations, that is. I don’t want to brag or bring attention to myself. I try to do my best, enjoy the benefits of my successes and move on. There are a few close friends I may talk to but that’s about it, no lime-light for me.

In this passage, the Samaritan woman tells a ton of people about her encounter with Jesus. The woman at the well has just been called out about her multiple marriages and now her adulteress relationship. Did she fly off the handle with Jesus and tell Him to mind His own business? Did she become offended and walk away in a huff? Did she cry and throw herself a pity-party? I have no idea what range of emotions went through this woman’s mind at the time but what I do know is at some point, she became open to the truth of Jesus. And then she went and told others about Him! This is her sharing a huge joy and celebration with others!

This passage states that many and many more believed in Him. Not all people who hear your story, or mine, will believe. There will still be scoffers, mockers and those who just refuse to believe. But because of your story, many who listen will believe.

Those who believe will seek Christ and want to hear what He has to say personally. Their faith will be strengthened and solidified. One thing we can do when telling others our stories is encourage them to find out for themselves who this Jesus person really is.

Over and over in the Bible, people come to know Jesus through the telling of real experiences from real people. They are not pastors, teachers or others in position of authority but just ordinary people who are willing to share what Jesus has done in their lives. Jesus Christ has made known to me the ways of my life and has shown me a better way. My passion is to encourage you in that better way.

Something to Consider…

Has Jesus made a difference in your life? Have your shared your story with others? What has the experience of sharing your faith done in your own life? Maybe you have never shared your faith. You don’t know even know where to start. Ask Jesus to help you put into words what He has done for you. One of the best places to start sharing your faith is in a community of other believers like a church or small group. As we hear others, we are encouraged. As we begin to share, we become courageous. Consider who may come to know and believe in Jesus because of your story.

22 thoughts on “What’s Your Story?

  1. Great messages that you have read and your sharing is good support to others. Thank you. I have shared my faith story several times not to bring myself elevated, because that is not who I am, but no one can tell you how you are to feel or argue any points of how I or you came to know Jesus. It creates a moment for them to evaluate themselves and their own story in life and if Jesus is a part of their life.

  2. There is something very powerful that happens in the heavens when a Christ follower shares their story. I picture it rattling the gates of hell and announcing a coming rescue. Just recently, God blessed me by allowing me to see a dear friend’s heart open wide up to Jesus while she was listening to another person share their story. It was a literal gasp of the enemy leaving and the Holy Spirit washing over her. It was one of the most amazing things I have ever been a witness of!

    Thank you Mari for sharing yours and encouraging more rattle and rescue!

    Loves and Hugs,
    Mary

  3. Thanks for putting yourself “out there” Mari.

    The enemy has many convinced that faith is something “personal” to be kept to “oneself”. Why do so many of us buy the lie when God’s word clearly tells us to do the opposite? Perhaps because so many before us have gotten it wrong. Can it really be as simple as sharing your story? You bet it can. “Live your faith” and you will be a walking billboard for Jesus and when God puts the opportunity in your path “share”. If we try to do it on our own power then yes we will come up short and wonder why people “don’t get it”. BUT…if we listen to the Holy Spirit and let Him lead us and we rely on His power…then watch out because “many more will believe”. Mari, I believe your blog is one way God is using to “wipe out” satan’s lies…by encouraging and equipping others to live and share their faith.

    God bless, WW

  4. i appreciate your insight into God’s word!
    It’s evident to me you are one wise woman!

    Thank you for sharing your heart!
    karen

    • Hi Kelly, I remember the first time I heard a pastor talk about sharing our faith. He said no one could argue what Jesus had truly done in our lives. We don’t need to defend, excuse, or have all the answers…just simply tell our story. Thanks for the reminder!

  5. Mari, you have a real and precious gifts. Ones that our LORD has given you in much the same way that a groom will give his bride precious jewels. Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to create this site and allowing us to see the jewels in your life instead of tucking them away and keeping them safe for some other day.

  6. Mari, thank you for listening (to God) and writing the words He gives you. You have a true gift, and I am blessed to be able to read what He says to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

